Healthier Hot Cocoa

Unsweetend Cocoa Powder

Ovaltine

Trader Joes Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

I’m not into chocolate like most. But every once in a while I crave chocolate milk or cocoa or trader joes chocolate truffles. Its when I’m a stressed or fatigued, I notice that I may crave the stuff.

Today I was so tired all day. Too lazy to go get something chocolatey, I scoured my cabinets and found a container of 100 percent pure unsweetened cocoa powder. Here’s what I did:

In a small little pot I poured in a mug’s worth of trader joes vanilla unsweetened almond milk. I added about 3 or 4 heaping teaspoons of the cocoa powder. With a flat wooden spatula, I began stirring the powder with the almond milk slowly. I also used a fork to “whisk” the powder into the liquid because unlike prepared mixes such as Swiss Miss, the powder took several minutes to get wet and begin dissolving or “melting”. When it did “melt down”, I added a couple heaping teaspoons of European formula Ovaltine (for vitamins and malt flavor!). I think the european formula is half as sweet as the american ovaltine and possibly a little more malty versus chocolatey? After adding the ovaltine, I added a small Teaspoon or 2 of sugar to my personal taste preferences. My mug of cocoa was extraordinary. Chocolatey with a balance of bitterness and sweetness and very rich without much dairy. (Ovaltine has some milk powder in it).

I just finished my cocoa while typing this recipe and I’m now feeling extremely invigorated as if I drank black tea or coffee!

Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

Leave a Reply

