Rich Black Russian Chocolate Cake

Img00068-20111030-1507

Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

Choc_cake
Russian_Chocolate_Cake.pdf

So sad that I sat on this recipe for more than a decade before trying it out!

Since I’m short on time, I’m posting my handwritten notes of the recipe as a PDF. When I have a moment, I’ll come back to this post and type out the recipe in a neat and organized fashion.

Inside, this cake is so moist it’s almost like a brownie but still cake-like in texture. It’s a very dark chocolate cark and has very deep and complex flavors. There are many similar recipes and adaptations of this cake. It gets 5 stars pretty consistently on allrecipes.com and similar cooking social share websites.

I acidentally forgot to put the oil and the cake the first time I made it and it still came out super moist.

Ingredients:

·         One box of Duncan Hines Triple Chocolate Cake Mix (I accidentally didn’t mix the chocolate packet as I should have. I just put it into the dry ingrediants)

·         4 eggs

·         ½ cup oil (I accidentally forgot the oil and used water because I thought the batter was too stiff and it came out fine)

·         1 regular 3.9 oz box of Jello Instant Chocolate Pudding

·         1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder (2/3 cup for the batter, reserve the rest to dust cake when finished)

·         ½ cup Kahlua or Coffee Liquor

·         ¼ cup Crème de Cocao (dark) or Chocolate Liquor

·         ¾ cup brewed Hazelnut coffee

·         ¾ teaspoon Cinnamon

·         1 tablespoon Vanilla

Mix dry ingrediants in one big bowl. Whisk eggs and add wet ingrediants in separate bowl. Slowly add wet to dry little by little and stirring until mixed but do not beat with electric mixer or don’t beat to smooth out the recipe. Just stir gently until the batter is thoroughly mixed. Bake for 45 – 50 mins.

Tips: Prep your bundt pan with a rubbing of shortening and a light layer of flower to keep cake from sticking.  Second, use an oven thermometer to make sure your oven is at exactly 350 degrees. Don’t open the oven to check on the cake for the first 25 mins. Wait until cake has risen some before checking.

On my attached notes, there’s a recipe for an icing. I skipped it and just put sifted unsweetened cocoa powder. I prefer the blance of bitter to sweet. Icing not necessary.

Leave a Reply

