Roasted Savory Shredded Turkey Breast

Last night i made some really good roasted turkey. I made up the recipe based on what is pretty traditional for my family.  I didn’t use measurements so I’ll give some estimates.

I served the turkey over rice and with cranberry sauce.

I bought a boneless turkey breast. Never bought one of these before. It had a kind-of spandexy netting around it to hold it together as it backed. I removed it toward the end of baking because I wanted the flavor of the broth/drippings to go through all of the meat.

Here are the ingrediants I used:

  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • water
  • Better than bouillion
  • 1 large coursely chopped onion
  • onion powder
  • 4 stalks of sliced celery
  • celery salt seasoning
  • dried thyme
  • paprika
  • fresh sage
  • 4 sliced carrots
  • butter
  • olive oil
  • black pepper
  • 4-6 teaspoons crushed garlic

I baked the turkey on 350 for about 3 1/2 hours I think. The instructions on the wrapping said to bake with the skin up. I baked it for the first third of the time with the skin up. Then I flipped it after about the 1st hour, Then I flipped it back for an hour. For the last 20 mins or so, I cut off the netting and pulled the turkey apart into shreds and chunks and finished it off baking so that the drippings/broth could “marinate” the meat through and through.

I kept the on while baking and used a tradtional soul food turkey/chicken type roaster. I usually line it with foil for easier clean-up.  Another tip, to brown the outside of the turkey, I basted the turkey and then drizzled olive oil over it and then covered it with the spices when it first put it in and each time that I flipped it.

Also, I reserved the vegetables, and added them halfway through the cooking. I actually wish the I had reserved the vegetable until the last half hour so they would be brighter and fresher looking but it still came out very good. I didn’t know how long I was going to need to cook them turkey at first.  I also think that this dish would have been over the top good if I’d also made some stuffing.

This dish would have been enough to serve a 6 -8 people at a dinner.  I froze half of it for later use. I’ll probably use it to make a stew.

The attached photos show what the turkey looked like when I added the veggies at the end of the 2nd hour.  The other photo shows what the turkey looked like when I broke it up.

Oh, last tip, I would probably use 2 cans of chicken broth next time but still the same amount of water and I’d remove the netting from the beginning instead of later during the baking. Also, for a dinner party and if I had enough time, I would use fresh garlic instead of from the jar.

Img_02181Img_02211
Leave a Reply

