Beans & Chicken Hot Dogs with Side Salad & Rice

Img_02161

This is a slightly “classed up” version of Beans and Franks.

Ingrediants:

  • 1 can Van de Camps Pork & Beans
  • Chopped Fresh Chives or Green Onions
  • Molasses
  • Onion Powder
  • Mustard or mustard powder (1/4 teaspoon)
  • paprika (dash)
  • 2 or 3 hot dogs sliced

I used Van de Camps because it was what I had on hand. I found it to be very bland so I added about a tablespoon of molasses, about a half teaspoon of onion powder, and a little mustard with a dash of paprika to flavor up the beans.

I cooked the hot dogs in a grill pan separatly from the beans and then added them once they were cooked and had some nice black grill lines on them. I used Trader Joes Nitrate free Chicken Hot Dogs, but any will do.  I had to toss these hot dog pieces in a little oil before cooking because they’re kind of dry. But most regular hot dogs have more fat so oil wouldn’t be necessary.

I simmered my beans for about 5-10 mins and then added the hot dogs and then topped with some green onions. I served it over rice and had a basic house salad on the side.

It was a little fancier than the norm but wouldn’t alienate the most conservative palate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

