Curry Coconut Bass & Shrimp Stew

Img_02411
Img_02431
Img_02441
Img_02381

Stew Ingredients:

  • 2 good size pieces of bass cut into small chunks
  • 1/2 lb to a pound of shrimp
  • (If you have other seafood throw it in!)
  • Veggies I used
  • 1 whole onion
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic minced
  • 2 four ounce cans of coconut milk (unsweetened)
  • 2 cans of chicken broth
  • 1 serrano chili minced (thai chilies better or habanero probably better)
  • 3 inch piece of ginger chopped
  • shelled, frozen edamame
  • 3 carrots chopped
  • Jamaican curry seasoning

Kale Ingrediants:

  • Chopped kale (4 cups?)
  • soy sauce (1 – tablespoon?)
  • cooking oil ( 1  – 2 tablespoons?)
  • crushed garlic (about 1 teaspoon)

This recipe is a work in progress. I used veggies and seafood that I had on hand. It came out pleasantly mild. I originally only used one piece of fish but 2 would have been better. I also used frozen shrimp not fresh. Not sure how much of a difference that makes. However, to give this dish have another layer of complexity, I would try marinating the seafood first and then grilling or broiling it and adding it to the stew once you’re ready to turn off the heat.

If time allows for more artful cooking, then creating a chicken broth from scratch (using chicken with bones) would be better than using Swanson’s which is good but not so great when the cuisine isn’t the standard American or European fare. Oh, I also only used 1 can of chicken broth, but I listed 2 in the ingredients because my guess it that it would taste better with it. I used water and one can of chicken broth when I made this.  An 8 quart pot was about halfway filled with the veggies, seafood, and liquid.

Since I was experimenting and not following a recipe, my timing was a little off at adding the veggies. Add them according to which ones take longest to cook first (as if you’re sauteeing).  I decided to saute some kale after the stew was done because it was too late to add it to the stew. I didn’t want to overcook the seafood and thought the kale would turn out too tough if I didn’t cook it long enough. After I sauteed the kale, I sprinkled over the stew which was served over plain jasmine rice. After my first sampling, I decided to jazz it up a bit. I dumped the rice into the kale that was still in the wok and stirred it around to pick up the flavor but I didn’t turn the heat on so it’s not “fried” rice.

On my second helping, I forgot to take a pic, but I put some of the rice mixed with the kale into a bowl and then ladeled the stew over it. It worked out much better that way in terms of flavor and presentation.  This dish was better on the 2nd and 3rd day. Everything just kept marinating in the curry broth. The veggies stayed perfect also.

Leave a Reply

