Ethiopian Tomato Salad

Img_02371

Ethiopian Tomato Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 plum tomatos
  • Onion chopped finely (less than a quarter of a small to medium onion)
  • Olive Oil
  • fresh lemon to squeeze juice
  • jalapeno (1/4 – 1/3 of a jalapeno minced)

Whenever I get the veggie combo at an ethiopian restaurant, there can nver be enough tomato salad (or Misir Wot Red Lentils!). The salad is so tasty and refreshing and so simple.

Since I was making this up by taste, I’m not sure of exact measurements. So I’m making some guesses.

Dice 3 plum tomatos. Add in the onion to taste. Add about a half – 1 teaspoon of olive oil. Squeeze some lemon to taste. Add a little jalapeno (the longer the jalapeno sits int the mix, the hotter it will get as the liquid from the mix will continue drawing out the heat).

In the picture, I added in some lettuce and some grilled eggplant and zucchini (traders joes frozen bag. I had some leftover from the night before).

Readjust your seasoning to taste. I didn’t use salt but others might prefer it.

I ate this with my veggie combo leftovers. I had injera bread leftover too. Injera and the salad by themselves also make a good snack.

Leave a Reply

