Dry Pico de Gallo Chili Spice Sprinkle Mix

20130512-154558.jpg

http://www.aspicyperspective.com/2011/07/chile-lime-mango-and-papaya.html

I dressed up some sliced pineapple on the fly with Mexican style a mexican chili powder mix.  It gets sprinkled over  fresh fruit for an interesting sweet, hot, salty flavor.

I used the first recipe that came up in my google search.  I used ingrediants on hand since I was quickly putting this together at a friends house.

This recipe makes enough spice mix for a fruit platter.  I used brown sugar instead of white sugar.  I used chile de arbol instead of ancho.  I used a half pinch of cayenne and a full pinch of pasillo chili powder. (It’s all my friend had). I sprinkled the juice and zest directly on top of the pineapple. Then I spooned the spice mix over the fruit.

It came out really great!

Leave a Reply

